“Promises are made to be broken?”

Promises, promises…

“Promises are made to be broken”

No.

Just because you cannot keep your own promises, you make that excuse.

Promises are not made to be broken. Promises are made for the other person to know how committed you are in doing something. Promises are made for YOU to measure your own commitment to someone else or even to yourself (if you make a promise to yourself).  Promises are not simple words. They are words that should be full of meaning. The person you made that promise to expect you to honor it. They put their trust in you.

I’ve come across a few human beings who love to make promises to me. I know better now. I don’t take their promises seriously anymore.

To me, honoring a promise is a reflection of who you are.

 

Daily Post

Leave a comment